+7 (495) 690-7130

Москва, 3-я ул. Ямского Поля, 9
Art Residence, A-115
+7 (495) 690-7130

3-Ya Yamskogo Polya Ulitsa, 9,
Moscow, 125040
SEVEN
Tanya Pioniker
Returning to medieval imagery - what does it mean today?

SEVEN
Tanya Peniker


Returning to medieval imagery - what does it mean today?
Etchings presented at the exhibition tell us about the seven deadly sins. Bright, dynamic, colorful and carnivalesque, we immerse into a world that combines themes and techniques of old masters with the new digital technologies, consumer society, consumerism values, fueled by various ideologies. Atmosphere and style of etchings give rise to associations with the intricate universe of the medieval "surrealist" artist Hieronymus Bosch and the adherent of his aesthetics - Pieter Bruegel the Elder, with the worlds of Martin Schongauer and Albrecht Durer. The intimacy and laconicism of the drawing reveal an unexpected relationship with the paintings of conceptualists Dmitry Prigov, Ilya Kabakov, Pavel Pepperstein and Mikhail Shemyakin.
When
28 May 2021 - 25 June 2021


Where
3-ya Yamskogo Polya ulitsa, 9, A 115

All works are performed in the etching technique, in the shape of a rondo. A certain sin is signed on the banner ribbon in Latin, written in Gothic script, and a Russian-language motto is displayed on the margins of the rondo. Sins, inscribed in a circle, take on the form of completeness and totality. Since the Middle Ages, the form of rondo in painting has been associated with the image of the world and a mirror, every viewer can look into. And travesty, ridicule of sin - a rhetorical device of both street theaters and paintings by classical masters - becomes the recurrent theme of engravings. Satire and social criticism, morality and visual comedy, found in a previously unprecedented and emerging mode of existence, are the code of the New Middle Ages and the exhibition «Seven».
Detail of an etching from the "Seven" series
by Tanya Pioniker
Plate for printing etches. Series "Seven"
by Tanya Pioniker
Detail of an etching from the "Seven" series
by Tanya Pioniker
Left
Right
"Seven" is the name of a series of etchings by Tanya Pioniker. The number seven is highly symbolic in European culture. And this symbolism arose in the Middle Ages under the influence of Christian discourse. The number "seven" conveys the idea of completeness and totality: seven days - the cycle of divine creation, a week, seven - the number of virtues, seven - the number of deadly sins. The millennialists prophesied that earthly existence would last six thousand years, and on the seventh thousand a good life for the righteous would begin, after which the Last Judgment would take place. The chosen ones will be granted paradise, and the sinners - hell.

The etchings presented at the exhibition re-actualize the theme of sin in our seemingly secular post-meta-modernist globalized society. Mutants, devils, trolls, demons and other bizarre creatures are an integral part of visual culture - heroes of cinema, animation, books, video games, popular memes in social networks. Where did these images come from? What is their genealogy? What ideas are demonstrated through grotesque, scary and hilarious hybrid monsters?

Traditionally, a sin does not come alone, but entails a myriad of other bad deeds. For medieval artists, hybridity and monstrosity became a technique for visualizing various shades of sinfulness. However, even the Middle Ages didn't just condemn sin. They reckoned with it, granting it a way out and relaxation in crazy carnival celebrations. The era of romanticism undertook a revision of the complex centuries-old relationship of order and disorder. Surrealism invented a new (un) order and a new morality, re-actualizing bizarre synthetic and hybrid images in the context of modernity. So what does returning to these images mean today? Perhaps this is the main question posed and asked by the "Seven" series.

Follow us in social networks!
Our partners
If you're interested in supporting contemporary art, please contact us tpo@dxl.ru.

Семь

Таня Пёникер
Что значит возвращение к средневековым образам в наши дни?

Семь
Таня Пёникер


Что значит возвращение к средневековым образам в наши дни?
Офорты, представленные на выставке, рассказывают зрителю о семи смертных грехах. Ярко, динамично, красочно и карнавально мы погружаемся в мир, сочетающий темы и приемы старых мастеров с дивным новым миром цифровых технологий, обществом потребления, ценностями консюмеризма, подогреваемыми различными идеологиями. Атмосфера и стиль офортов рождают ассоциации с затейливой вселенной средневекового «сюрреалиста» Иеронима Босха и адепта его эстетики — Питера Брейгеля Старшего, с мирами Мартина Шонгауэра и Альбрехта Дюрера. Камерность и лаконичность рисунка обнаруживают неожиданное родство с картинами концептуалистов Дмитрия Пригова, Ильи Кабакова, Павла Пепперштейна, а также Михаила Шемякина.
Когда
28 мая 2021 - 25 июня 2021


Где
3-я ул. Ямского Поля, 9, А115


Все работы выполнены в одной технике офорта и в форме рондо. На ленточке-баннере латынью, выведенной готическим шрифтом, подписан определенный грех, а на полях рондо выведен русскоязычный девиз. Грехи, вписанные в круг, приобретают форму завершенности и тотальности. Начиная с эпохи Средневековья форма рондо в живописи ассоциировалась с образом мира и зеркала, в которое может посмотреться каждый зритель. А травестирование, высмеивание греха — риторический прием как площадных театров, так и картин классических мастеров — становится лейтмотивом гравюр. Сатира и социальная критика, моралите и визуальная комедия, обретенные в небывалом ранее и возникающем на наших глазах модусе существования, — это код Нового Средневековья и выставки «Семь».
Деталь оттиска из серии "Семь"
Художница Таня Пёникер
Доска для печати офортов. Серия "Семь"
Художница Таня Пёникер
Деталь оттиска из серии "Семь"
Художница Таня Пёникер
Left
Right
«Семь» — название серии офортов Тани Пёникер. Цифра семь в европейской культуре глубоко символична. И эта символика возникла в эпоху Средневековья под влиянием христианского дискурса. Число «семь» передает идею завершенности и тотальности: семь дней — цикл божественного творения, неделя, семь — число добродетелей, семь — число смертных грехов. Милленаристы пророчили, что земное существование продлится шесть тысяч лет, а на седьмую тысячу начнется благая жизнь для праведников, после чего свершится Страшный суд. Избранным будет дарован рай, а грешникам — ад.

Офорты, представленные на выставке, реактуализируют тему греха в нашем, казалось бы, секулярном пост-мета-модернистском глобализированном обществе. Мутанты, черти, тролли, демоны и другие причудливые существа — неотъемлемая часть визуальной культуры — герои кинематографа, мультипликации, книг, видеоигр, популярных мемов в соцсетях. Откуда возникли эти образы? Какова их генеалогия? Какие идеи обличают себя в гротескных, страшных и веселых гибридных монстрах?

Традиционно грех не приходит один, а влечет за собой мириады прочих дурных поступков. Для средневековых художников гибридность и монструозность становилась приемом для визуализации различных оттенков грешности. Однако даже Средние века не только порицали грех. Они считались с ним, даровав ему выход и разрядку в безумных карнавальных празднествах. Ревизию в сложных многовековых отношениях порядка и беспорядка провела эпоха романтизма. Сюрреализм изобрел новый (бес)порядок и новую мораль, наново актуализировав в контексте современности причудливые синтетические и гибридные образы. Что же, наконец, должно означать возвращение к этим образам в наши дни? Пожалуй, это и есть главный вопрос, поставленный и задаваемый серией «Семь».

Следите за обновлениями в соцсетях галереи!
Партеры проекта
Если вы заинтересованы в поддержке современного искусства, пожалуйста, свяжитесь с нами по почте tpo@dxl.ru.